Decision

2011/201 C

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments to subsidiary and related bodies of the Economic and Social Council

At its 12th plenary meeting, on 26 May 2011, the Economic and Social Council took the following action with regard to vacancies in its subsidiary and related bodies:

Elections

Commission on Population and Development

The Council elected the **Islamic Republic of Iran** to fill an outstanding vacancy on the Commission for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring at the close of the Commission's forty-eighth session, in 2015.

The Council further postponed the election of one member from Asian States and one member from Latin American and Caribbean States for a four-year term beginning at the first meeting of the Commission's forty-sixth session, in 2012, and expiring at the close of the Commission's forty-ninth session, in 2016.

Commission on the Status of Women

The Council elected **Malawi** to fill an outstanding vacancy on the Commission for a four-year term beginning at the first meeting of the Commission's fifty-seventh session, in 2012, and expiring at the close of the Commission's sixtieth session, in 2016.

Intergovernmental Working Group of Experts on International Standards of Accounting and Reporting

The Council elected **Ecuador** to fill an outstanding vacancy on the Intergovernmental Working Group for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2012.

The Council further postponed the election of three members from Latin American and Caribbean States and four members from Western European and other States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2011, the election of four members from Asian States and one member from Latin American and Caribbean States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 2012, and the election of two members from African States, two members from Asian States, one member from Latin American and Caribbean States and nine members from Western European and other States for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2012.